Quick Birthday Party Ideas- Thomas and Friends Theme

Hello Everyone… How are you all doing? Well, I’m asking this as it’s been quite a while since we posted on the blog. Work, kids and some family matters kept us really really occupied. I feel a lot better as I take this short break vacationing in my home town. After I was done with compensating for all the pending sleep, I turned on to my blogging, left untouched for long. There are many topics filed under various categories in my brain that I need to write about. Here goes the first one: I confess.. I’m a celebration freak!!! A major occasion that I celebrate is my Dolly’s birthday. I did plan a proper party for her first birthday but keeping her comfort factor and to make the event more fun filled than exhausting, I have kept birthday parties simple and at home since then. For the last two years, we had more of our friends coming home for the celebration. This year I was ecstatic as Dolly had few of her friends at home for the party. She told me she wants a Thomas and Friends themed party and I was all motivated to put it together. Not because I love the tank engine the most, but my born girlie girl said something neutral or tom boyish!!! (Well.. you will only understand my feelings if you have a pink blind, fairy tale crazy and ballet dreaming little girl at home). I wanted to make her engine themed party awesome, but the sad tale of all working moms… I had a hectic 3 weeks at work and I had nothing as per plan for the party.. except may be the theme. To make my work easier, I tried looking for supplies online, but tough luck, couldn’t get the Thomas and Friends theme supplies. At a point, I even thought of changing the theme… and that’s when Dolly reminded me that she has told her friends that mamma is going to have a Thomas and Friends party for her birthday Sad smile I had few days in hand and decided not to give up (do I have a choice???). My dream of hand crafted invites and decorations seemed remote. I had to depend on web genie – Google. I browsed for invites and was very lucky this time. I found a few great resources online. The Club Party Ideas was my pick. They have an amazing template and all you have to do is add your content in their online portal and you get your personalised invites in no time and the best part is ITS FREE!!!!!!!! DSC_0513 copy I got the birthday party invites printed on a glossy thick sheet and cut and enveloped it!! Whohaa.. the invites were ready to go. As I failed to get the materials online, I tried my luck in the local market. Although I couldn’t get any theme related supplies, I got a plethora of eye catching birthday supplies, tempting me to grab stuffs like a maniac. With no choice the last minute, I decided to pick blue supplies. I got blue, white and red balloons, blue goodie bags and other blue decorations. I decided to end my search on the supplies as with such little time left, my focus had to be on getting things done rather than concentrating on perfection. I shortlisted a few dress designs and got her outfit custom made from a friend’s boutique. I made the hair accessory for the dress and was lucky to get matching footwear and accessories. I shortlisted a few cake designs which I found on the web (google images rather). I contacted Cake Waves and they agreed to recreate it for me and I must say, they did an amazing job. The cake did become the centre attraction at the party. IMG-20140808-WA0002 copy I took printouts of Thomas face (another resource found online) and used it on decorations and goodie bags to get the Thomas touch. I made engine models with carton boxes, cardboard and stock paper. Again, Thomas face printouts came to my rescue to finish this in quick time. DSC_0548 copy I also used cardboard pieces to make the tunnel in the station. The cake, few tracks from Dolly’s train set and few tricks helped me set up the simple yet elegant cake table in a few minutes. DSC_0549-copy_thumb.jpg Dolly was happy to see the home transform into the Island of Sodor, (probably she lost hope as we ran out of time and thought something is better than nothing :P) and I was happy that I didn’t give up and managed to put together a party in the little time I had. Well all’s well that ends well. DSC_0543 copy I will post soon on these DIY’s and other aspects of the party in the coming posts. Happy reading!!! PS: I traced back the source of the cake design to arrive at http://azyandelights.blogspot.in/2011/11/number-5-cake-thomas-and-friends-cake.html I am unsure who is the actual designer of the cake, but hats off to the person for such a fabulous design.

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-60162121-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Leave a Reply

