Candy Land Themed Christmas Decoration

Christmas to me has become something that brings a high voltage smile on my daughter’s little face. Dolly adores the festival and I fondly put together tits and bits of what is practiced, just for her. I have been putting up a tree at home for four years now and had been repeating almost the same process, as though it is an unwritten festive rule. Taking out the tree, putting up the ornaments, connecting the serial lights and done, Christmas decoration over. This year I badly wanted to break the stereotype.. but was unsure about what to do. That is when I recalled that I do it all for Dolly and what was stopping me from doing something that she loves. Kids’ love for colours and candies doesn’t need any elucidation and my Doll is no different.

DSC_0787 copy

So we were all geared to put up a candy themed Christmas decoration this year. As I had to squeeze in this self-proclaimed ‘different’ décor idea into my much busy schedule, I decided to break into bits and do something each weekend. So here goes my countdown:

5 weeks for Christmas

Candy land theme’s first prerequisite, some sweet treats on the tree. I started crafting along with Dolly to make some simple ornaments for the tree. I made a batch of playdough at home following the easy instructions at Swapna’s blog and created some lollies and candy canes for the tree.

pix copy

4 weeks for Christmas

We continued crafting to create few more yummy treats for the tree. This week we made some cupcake ornaments and ice-cream cone ornaments. These are simple crafts that kids can make in few minutes. Dolly was excited to make these and had a wide grin to see the end result. (Check our cupcake ornament post here). We also put up our tree this week and decorated it with the ornaments we made.

pix1 copy

Dolly wanted to make a Christmas craft all by herself for the candy land and I suggested she could make the wreath. A ready-made ring, some shimmering pink tinsels and Christmas tree ornaments made the craft complete.

DSC_0800 copy

3 weeks for Christmas

For all these years, Santa to Dolly was a person who gave chocolates every Christmas time in school and malls. This year as she has learnt to write small sentences, I introduced her to the practice of writing to Santa. I made a Wish box by upcycling materials that I gathered from various corners of the house so that she could place her letter addressed to Mr. Santa, North Pole.

DSC_0407 copy

How could I forget the gingerbread man when I am planning a candy land? I made a simple cut out in minutes with the least crafting skills that one could imagine. Dolly loved embellishing her favourite character from this much read fairy tale. Fixing it up and making it stand was a slight challenge. Luckily my hubby came to the rescue and it was set perfectly.

2 weeks for Christmas

Christmas was almost at the door step and I would have been probably the only person left with incomplete decorations. This week I was determined to complete it.

Me and Dolly did some colouring activity and made few lollypops with paper plates.

We gave a little twist to the usual gift wrapping and got the gifts wrapped as toffees to gel with the theme.

pix3 copy

We were done with our crafting and had to put together everything in our candy land. Everything that Dolly likes became a part of her candy land. The penguins of Madagascar are much in trend this season. Colourful engine, Tweety and Tom, all lined up in this fun world.

DSC_0796 copy

Dolly is having a great time gazing at her candy land and joins me in wishing you all a Merry Christmas and a blessed festive season!!!!!

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-60162121-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Leave a Reply

