DIY Ethnic Indian Headband

Necessity is the mother of invention!! This is quite an over statement for this post but this DIY which I did recently has somewhat a similar story. I had a family function to attend and got traditional clothes for Dolly. I wanted a hair accessory (headband precisely, as I cut her hair recently :D) that goes well with her dress and needless to say, I didn’t find any. So what do i do next… well no choice, so I decided to make my own.

This could probably be one of the simplest accessories that you can make for your little dolls( I am not joking). With a few basic materials and a even lesser  quality minutes, we can create this headband to suit ethnic Indian outfit.

DSC_0648

Materials needed:

  • Plastic Hairband
  • Golden Ribbon
  • Ethnic design patches
  • Glue (I used Fevibond)
  • Rubber Bands

DSC_0587
Method:

1) Wipe the plastic hairband with a dry cloth or tissue paper to ensure a dust free surface to work on.

2) Apply a thin coat of glue on the hairband and on the ribbon.

DSC_0588
3) Wrap the ribbon around the hair band covering it completely.

DSC_0589

4) Embellish the head band by sticking the design patches. You can be as creative as you can or keep it simple as I did 🙂

5) Secure both ends of the ribbon by wrapping and securing with glue. You could use rubber bands to ensure it stays tight.

DSC_0590
6) Allow it to dry for 30-45 minutes. Remove the rubber bands and the headband is ready for your little princess!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

